Problems with WordPress

About two weeks or so ago now, I was working on another blog post about the power of a tool named Prey. Months ago, I created a draft post where I posted a link to an interesting story regarding Prey, and then left for a while.

When I came back to work on it again, I was working for a couple of hours, and I had pretty much finished. I decided it was best to save it, even though I know WordPress should autosave anyway. It was at this point that I experienced a problem…

After clicking Save Draft, instead of saving, the page went to some sort of error. I was a bit annoyed at this, but figured that everything would probably be there anyway. So, I reloaded the WordPress admin page, and saw in my posts that it was still there. What a relief!

But no! It wasn’t there. WordPress had completely ignored my work over the past few hours, and the draft that was saved was still that original one with the link. None of my content, tags, categories, anything, was still there. Desperately hoping to get my post back, I went in to edit the post, and check the revisions. Unfortunately, the only revisions that had been saved were also ones with nothing but the link. At this point, I’d pretty much given up hope of getting my post back, but I decided to try and see if I could get any help anyway. I Tweeted the following tweets:

While WordPress themselves never got back to me, some time between the first and last tweets, a very helpful user tweeted

Thanks partly to this helpful user, and partly to my experience with uploading videos to YouTube (where I frequently lose my description and tags), I’m now writing this in TextEdit, and will copy and paste when I’m done.

That post about Prey now sits in my drafts—just a link, no more. Hopefully I’ll get round eventually to finishing it, but for now, this will have to do.

I think it goes without saying that I’m really unhappy with the way WordPress support handled this, and with the way WordPress’s autosave has failed me.

Even so, it’s taught me a valuable lesson. Always make sure to save your work!

Has this ever happened to you? Let me know in the comments below!

