Respecting Authoritative Decisions, even bad ones

In part 1 and part 2 of this series, I talked about why the (then) recent decisions relating to school prefects and head students were terrible choices. Now I’m going to talk about why I will still respect those decisions. There really isn’t much to be said about it. The fact is that even though I and my peers don’t think the decision that was made was a good one, it was still made by authoritative people.

To continue the analogy of sport from the first post in the series, if the referee was to make a blatantly wrong decision, the players and coaches would have to accept it. Even the best people with authority make bad decisions. In some cases, they have time to think over their decision before hand, and this should decrease the likelihood of making a bad decision, but even then bad decisions will be made.

Now, that was a bit of a false analogy, because this decision was a deliberate one. It wasn’t made as an accident or misinterpretation of events. However, the result is still the same. An incorrect decision, but one by which you must stand. The teachers in charge made a bad decision, but for a good reason. They had to make the decision to promote the school, and more specifically their new prefect system. They chose the people they chose so that it would seem that they were giving equal and fair opportunities to everyone. Because of this, I’m going to respect the decisions that they made. I’ve moved on, and so has everyone else. I wouldn’t even be writing this if I hadn’t teased that I was going to in the last post, which was made shortly after the teachers made the decision, and before I had gotten over it.

One comment on “Respecting Authoritative Decisions, even bad ones

  1. Anonymous says:

    I agree completely mate. Have a good day

Leave a Reply

